ImmunoSensation - the immune sensory system

Promotion of early career researchers

The promotion of early career researchers at all career stages is firmly tied into the strategy of the Cluster ImmunoSensation2. Doctoral students have the opportunity to participate in the BIGS Immunosciences and Infection and postdoctoral researchers can receive further training through the Bonn School of Advanced Studies in Immunology.

Bonn School of Advanced Studies in Immunology

- A place for creative scientific exchange and outstanding education -

The Bonn School of Advanced Studies in Immunology aims to provide a structured, intensive advanced training for early career postdoctoral scientists in order to prepare them for their future high-level international careers. The school combines regular meetings in the form of a Postdoc Meeting Series and an annual Young Scientists Symposium, inviting also external young scientists.

The Postdoc Meeting Series within the framework of the Bonn School of Advanced Studies in Immunology is mainly organized by a team of postdocs. This ensures the optimum of support and the most effective networking of early career researchers with each other and by giving regular feedback to the CCO and to researchers on higher levels.

The contents of the regular meetings are:

· Invitations of guest speakers/ experts of a specific scientific field
· Method courses · Soft skills workshops
· Round table discussions on a specific topic

The Young Scientists Symposium gives postdocs the opportunity to network among each other but also with postdocs from all over the world. With this conference we give you the opportunity for creating new cooperations on the one hand and to highlight Bonn as one of the Hotspots for Immunology for the guest postdocs on the other hand. The activities of the Bonn School of Advanced Studies in Immunology will be complemented by offers for the early career scientists by the University and its faculties, as for example the Postdoc plus training Program developed by the Human Resource Development Office or by funding opportunities within the BONFOR program (Medical Faculty) and Argelander grants (Math Nat Faculty).