Skip to main content

Prof. Dr. Christian Kurts

Member, Steering-Committee Member

Institute of Molecular Medicine and Experimental Immunology (IMMEI)

Medical Faculty, University of Bonn University Hospital of Bonn Sigmund-Freud-Strasse 25 53105 Bonn

+49 228 28711050


Prof. Kurts and his group are interested in the mechanisms governing antigen-presentation and the ensuing immune response in the defense against infections and in immune mediated disease. Their main research projects focus on the mechanisms of antigen cross-presentation to cytotoxic CD8 T cells, peripheral immune tolerance of T and B lymphocytes against self antigens, and the role of dendritic cells in diseases, especially in kidney disease.

Recent publications

  • Determining individual glomerular proteinuria and periglomerular infiltration in a cleared murine kidney by a 3D fast-marching algorithm.

    Kidney international

    Authors: Alexander M C Böhner, Alexander Effland, Alice M Jacob, Karin A M Böhner, Zeinab Abdullah, Sebastian Brähler, Ulrike I Attenberger, Martin Rumpf, Christian Kurts

    View this publication
  • Rapid protection against viral infections by chemokine-accelerated post-exposure vaccination.

    Frontiers in immunology

    Authors: Annkristin Heine, Niels A W Lemmermann, Chrystel Flores, Janine Becker-Gotot, Natalio Garbi, Peter Brossart, Christian Kurts

    View this publication
  • Conditional NKT Cell Depletion in Mice Reveals a Negative Feedback Loop That Regulates CTL Cross-Priming.

    Journal of immunology (Baltimore, Md. : 1950)

    Authors: Christoph Heuser-Loy, Ann-Kathrin Baumgart, Carl-Philipp Hackstein, Christina J F Courrèges, Marie-Sophie Philipp, Christoph A Thaiss, Tristan Holland, César Evaristo, Natalio Garbi, Christian Kurts

    View this publication