Skip to main content

Prof. Dr. Michael Hölzel

Member, Steering-Committee Member

Institute of Experimental Oncology

Medical Faculty, University of Bonn University Hospital of Bonn Sigmund-Freud-Strasse 25 53127 Bonn

+49 228 28751393


Michael Hölzel has long-standing research expertise in the field of tumor biology and functional genomics with a particular focus on neural crest derived tumors such as melanoma. Currently his group investigates how the im-mune system crosstalks with the tumor cells in response to danger and proinflammatory signals released by therapy- induced tumor tissue injury. A central hypothesis is that this reciprocal communication drives therapy relapse due to rewiring of survival and differentiation pathways in tumor cells. This knowledge is critically needed for the rational combination of immunotherapies and targeted signal transduction inhibitors in the clinic.

Recent publications

  • On-treatment Modified Glasgow Prognostic Score Provides Predictive Information Complementary to Radiological Staging in Metastatic Urothelial Carcinoma on Immunotherapy.

    European urology oncology

    Authors: Jonas Saal, Viktor Grünwald, Tobias Bald, Manuel Ritter, Peter Brossart, Yoshihiko Tomita, Arndt Hartmann, Michael Hölzel, Markus Eckstein, Niklas Klümper

    View this publication
  • Pretreatment albumin is a prognostic and predictive biomarker for response to atezolizumab across solid tumors.

    Clinical & translational immunology

    Authors: Jonas Saal, Jörg Ellinger, Manuel Ritter, Peter Brossart, Michael Hölzel, Niklas Klümper, Tobias Bald

    View this publication
  • () promoter hypomethylation predicts immunotherapy response in metastatic urothelial carcinoma.


    Authors: Niklas Klümper, Lennert Wüst, Jonas Saal, Damian J Ralser, Romina Zarbl, Jonas Jarczyk, Johannes Breyer, Danijel Sikic, Bernd Wullich, Christian Bolenz, Florian Roghmann, Michael Hölzel, Manuel Ritter, Sebastian Strieth, Arndt Hartmann, Philipp Erben, Ralph M Wirtz, Jennifer Landsberg, Dimo Dietrich, Markus Eckstein

    View this publication